There Is a Whole Lot of Shaking Going on: Earthquakes

Wyoming, California and Idaho bounced around in recent earthquake activity.

GOOGLE IMAGES

GOOGLE IMAGES

It is nothing new for these states to experience rumblings. However, the magnitudes of the earthquakes have scientists attention.

Idaho has been experiencing a plethora of earthquakes; the latest was a 4.9 magnitude.

Scientists are not sure what to think of Idaho’s rash of earthquakes. The state sits upon a seismic belt that runs through northern Montana, down into southern Nevada (Yahoo News).

Yellowstone recently had its largest earthquake in 34 years at 4.8 magnitude (Yahoo News). Not to worry, scientists say this is not a sign of more trouble. The sleeping giant is still at a slumber with its constant snores and occasional snorts.

Southern California was jumbled around with a 4.1 magnitude and 100s of aftershocks. Friday, Mar. 28 an earthquake with 5.1 magnitude shook the area (Yahoo News). Seismologists believe it is a forerunner to a larger shake.

According to this map from the United States Geological Center, most of the U.S. has fault lines. The sandy beaches of Florida are safe.

USGS ILLUSTRATION

USGS ILLUSTRATION

I had no idea all this activity with Idaho, Wyoming, and California was taking place.

It goes to show how news outlets do not provide a balance of the news. Instead, a repetitious stream of news floods me on topics about Russia, Ukraine, missing airplane, Boston, school stabbing, South Korea ferry accident, and toss in Obama Care after every story.

I am rambling off topic again. Sorry.

I am glad no one was injured or worse. I lived in San Jose, California. As a child, I liked to lie on the ground to feel the earth tremble. The land is lovely. It truly is. I loved living there, except for the traffic, the commute, the cost of housing, the state taxes, etc… Hey, but the people, careers, and abundance of activities almost surpass the negatives.

Yellowstone just about stole my heart. My husband and I went there on vacation last summer. I am still tempted to move back west. I do not think I could handle the cold, again. I am not a fan. I prefer a picturesque view from the window. I like the idea of skiing, but not the actuality of freezing my buns off in the snow. It is breathtakingly beautiful, however. I would go.

GOOGLE IMAGES

GOOGLE IMAGES

Idaho, I have nothing. Oh wait; they have organic Idaho potatoes. Yes, potatoes!! Keep them coming, Idaho.

One last thought. I wonder if the extreme winter with exorbitant amounts of snow has anything to do with the extra shaking. Curious minds want to know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment